Browsing: #DMTSportsMedia

Nyora Raceway this Saturday from 4pm has a huge show packed with family fun with the Sprintcars headlining the racing portion of the program in the ‘Battle at the Bullring’ whilst club President Marcus Reddecliffe has made a special call to Santa Claus, and he will make an appearance for all the kids that are in attendance. The fun doesn’t stop there with Standard Saloons, Ladies Standard Saloons, Junior Standard Saloons, 1200cc Junior Sedans and Sports Sedans all in competition with the night closed down by a spectacular Fireworks show put on by the team at Kangaroo Fireworks Company to send everybody home happy.

In Sprintcar action early signs are that all of Gippsland’s best drivers will be in town to compete for the $2000 cash up for grabs for winning the race with Travis Millar from Wandin and Frankston man Kim Gosling whom both call Nyora Raceway their home track coming up against the likes of Victorian champion Nigel Laity from Wiseleigh in East Gippsland, Jett Bell, Dennis Jones from Morwell a four-time state champion, Alistair Bastian from Lucknow, and Adam Greenwood from Sale. Competing with Chevrolet LS CT525 engines these machines make all the noise that we come to expect from any Sprintcar no matter the powerplant.

Round two of the Ladies Standard Saloon state series has been run and won at Bairnsdale Speedway with nine drivers in the seat for competition on Saturday night with Tahlia Campbell from the Rosedale Speedway Club roaring to victory on a perfect night of racing for her as she tasted success in all three qualifier heats and then in the feature event of the evening.

Supported by local Bairnsdale business AME Ace Marine Electrics competing in the second round with Campbell was South Australian Sarah Gartner, early season victor at Bairnsdale Bree Walker, Elise Halliday, Kate Stuchbery representing the host club Bairnsdale, Michelle George from South Gippsland, Caroline Allen, Tasharni Murray and Bree Campbell.

Sixty-five entrants are ready for the second event of Bairnsdale Speedway Associations season coming up this Saturday evening with twenty-nine Standard Saloons set to do battle plus a handy field in the Next Gen Standard Saloon Showdown for Junior competitors with all the action to start at 5:30pm.

Fierce competition is expected in the Open Standard Saloons with Josh Thomas the current state number three ranked racer in the class set to do battle with Mitch Foster, Shane Stewart, Glen Pendlebury, Leigh Gooding, Andrew Cormack, Jack Braz, Luke King, Matt Leek, Steve Dadswell and Jacob Vuillermin amongst those who will stive to take the victory. Vuillermin was second last weekend at Alexandra in the Murrindindi Shire and is set to go, whilst there are many in the field who will vie for victory.

Alexandra and District Speedway Club got underway with their season on Saturday night with visiting competitors from right across Victoria and from interstate in town. The Late Model Sedans brought their speed and noise with Tasmanian Callum Harper taking a big $4000 payday when he finished first, whilst Neale Peachey won the first Australian Motor Contest Association Barry Reidy Memorial series first round at Alexandra in the transponder era and local star Linken Paterson took a big victory in the Standard Saloon feature event serving as an opportunity for the state’s best to test set ups prior to the Victorian title at the same venue in the new year.

Drouin Speedway Club has opened their season after the original season start in October was curtailed by rain and in a great day of Saturday racing husband and wife Andrew and Bronwyn Miles won between them the Open Standard Saloons and Ladies Standard Saloons classes, with visiting racer Jake Warren winning the Wingless Sprints and Pakenham Upper based racer Cruz Farrell smashing records in his Junior Sedan class on his way to victory.

With the second round of the Gippsland Wingless Sprints series being up for grabs drivers competed in two of the three heat race qualifiers each before the twenty-five-lap final. Ben Hodge from Lang Lang was the first driver to pick up a win winning by almost ten seconds in heat one. Jake Warren then visiting from the Southwest of Victoria was the next to win before a third different winner closed out the qualifiers in Aron Lawrence. All three heat race winners led their races from start to finish to win.

Nyora Raceway held not one but two days of racing across to start there season with a early evening start on the Sunday and a mid-evening start on the Monday to allow Monday workers to get to the track, with a very decent crowds on both days getting dished up plenty of action to send them home happy.

On the Sunday, Simon Bent one Victorian Speedway Council Sedans, Travis Millar won the Gippsland Wingless Sprint series opening round, Bree Walker won the Ladies Standard Saloon feature event and Leanne Young took the win in the Ladies Crash and Bash.