Pascal Wehrlein, TAG Heuer Porsche Formula E Team, 1st position, sprays champagne on the podium

Pascal Wehrlein and Porsche Top the Podium

Published: Monday January 15 2024
Pascal Wehrlein of TAG Heuer Porsche displayed masterful driving to clinch the first win of the season in an electrifying start to Season 10 of the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship in Mexico City today.

Wehrlein further solidified his renowned prowess at the Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez by leading from the start and converting his now-fourth Julius Baer Pole Position in Mexico to a second race win in the country. Although briefly ceding the lead during an ATTACK MODE charge under Full Course Yellow conditions, the German-Mauritian driver showcased his skill and resilience before a well-timed overtake to take back his lead and cross the finish line first. Wehrlein’s win also solidifies the success of the Porsche powertrain as the third Porsche-powered winner in each of the last three Mexico City E-Prix events. Joining Wehrlein on the podium were Sébastien Buemi for Envision Racing in second and Nick Cassidy, Jaguar TCS Racing’s new signing, in third.

“It was a tough race because we were leading most of the race and that’s not so efficient for energy – but every lap was like a qualifying lap, trying to maximise speed. I saw a small mistake behind me which created a small gap, and from then I think it was pretty controlled. Thanks a lot to my team and thanks to all the fans here, it’s always a great to be here in Mexico; it’s a great atmosphere. I’m already looking forward to coming back next year.” – Pascal Wehrlein, No. 94, TAG Heuer Porsche Formula E Team

The race also saw strong performances from Maximilian Guenther (Maserati MSG Racing) and Mitch Evans (Jaguar TCS Racing), with the latter engaging in a fierce, defensive battle with Jean-Éric Vergne (DS PENSKE), who made an impressive climb from 10th to sixth. Jake Hughes (NEOM McLaren Formula E Team), Stoffel Vandoorne (DS PENSKE), championship-defender Jake Dennis and Norman Nato (both Andretti Formula E) also put in notable performances, navigating through the pack to round out the top ten and secure points.

A relatively clean race was only interrupted on lap 9, after Robin Frijns found the wall on the exit of the Foro Sol. A Full Course Yellow would be required for the car’s removal, forcing Wehrlein to delay his attack on the then-leader Buemi.

AUTODROMO HERMANOS RODRIGUEZ, MEXICO – JANUARY 13: Pascal Wehrlein, TAG Heuer Porsche Formula E Team, Porsche 99X Electric Gen3, leads Sebastien Buemi, Envision Racing, Jaguar I-TYPE 6, Mitch Evans, Jaguar TCS Racing, Jaguar I-TYPE 6, Nick Cassidy, Jaguar TCS Racing, Jaguar I-TYPE 6, Jake Hughes, NEOM McLaren Formula E Team, e-4ORCE 04, and the rest of the field at the start during the Mexico City ePrix at Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez on Saturday January 13, 2024 in Mexico City, Mexico. (Photo by Dom Romney / LAT Images)