Speedway show packed with variety at Alexandra this Saturday

Published: Tuesday December 12 2023

Alexandra and District Speedway Club’s second show of the current season is fast approaching with this Saturday night headlined by one of the nations leading national classes, the Super Sedans. The Victorian Super Sedan Association bring their state series to Alexandra, Compact Speedcars are on the show along with the Junior Sedan Promotional Association series second round and local supporting classes.

Led by Jamie Collins the Victorian champion and including the likes of Mick Nicola Jnr and Eastern Suburbs based racer Dave Mackenzie, the Super Sedans with high powered eight-cylinder engines up to 366ci thrill the fans usually hiking up on three wheels as they make their way into the corners at each end of the racetrack. The class brings excitement with the noise they make as they roar up and down the front and back straights. Collins a double state champion at the present time is currently the best in the field whilst Nicola Jnr has a long resume of victories despite a lack of local racing recently. Those two on paper should be the drivers to beat with Mackenzie keen on victory after an early win this season.

Also, on the program open wheel racing returns with the pocket rockets the Compact Speedcars. New South Wales champion and another Eastern Suburbs resident Justin Paull is the lead driver in the nominations list from the mostly Yamaha and Suzuki powered 1000cc machines. Further competitors to take interest include Tania Hallett, Chris Curren, Trevor Perry, Terry Brown, and Mitch Allison. Allison recently finished second at Swan Hill with Brown from Goulburn Valley finishing in third. Paull will be keen to notch up a win after failing to finish at Swan Hill.

New Victorian Champion and Alexandra member River Paterson from Healesville leads nominations in this weekend’s Junior Sedan Promotional Series for up to 1500cc powered race cars. Paterson became the state champion on Saturday night in Swan Hill when he defeated a strong list of interstate visitors and his own club mate Bree Simpson. Simpson from Woori Yallock finished second in the title and will soon be moving into Compact Speedcar racing.

Entrants across three categories of Speedway Sedans Victoria Juniors includes current New South Wales and South Australian champion Jaiden Santin from Lismore in the Northern Rivers of NSW. Other top runners from the title that are nominated include Jake Bradley, Pary Das and Cruz Farrell who all finished in the top ten at the title whilst Miller Throckmorton is another to watch. Other Alexandra members in the Top Stars category include Tamika Simpson, Maddy Capon and Will Fallon and all can figure in this weekend’s front runners.

The second category in competition is the New Stars for developing drivers with up to 1500cc cars. This class features drivers in their first couple of seasons of racing until they are observed as being ready to be classed as a Top Star. Alexandra members Luke Morrison, Darcy Dannatt, Cruz Paterson, and Axel Robinson are amongst the competition, with Robinson a winner once this season to date. Cruz Carlin and Jaylen Knight are visiting drivers they will be in competition with, both are more than capable of a win.

The final Junior Sedan category is the 1200cc class. Alexandra member Brad Marshall so far this season has been very strong and looks like the driver most likely to win. Chase Doherty, another Alexandra member Dayne Murdoch and Holly Hutchinson are all very competitive. Blake Beach, Jai Alexander, and Maddy Beach are other Alexandra members set for competition.

With the Victorian Standard Saloon title slated for Alexandra in the new year, competitors are taking the opportunity to compete as much as possible on the track in order to find set up advantages. Alexandra member Ben Rudd is locked in to go door to door with state champion Rhys Lansdown from Wahgunyah and a former state title podium finisher Mitch Foster, plus to former state champions Warrick Howie and Shane Stewart. The lineup is stacked with Jaimi Barber, Kacey Ingram, Brodie Robertson and Tyson Cull all capable of running door to door at the front of the field.

Sports Sedans have a lot of racing around Victoria with a huge state series affecting club nominations on some race dates. This weekend chasing club points in Alexandra Sports Sedan competition Braiden Webster, Jack Van Bremen, Ian Thomsen, Ethan Lambert, David Donegan and Justin Thomsen will all pit Commodores and Falcons against each other with FG engines in older model Fords and LS engines in older model Commodores, unless of course your Donegan who has a Holden 308 in a Cortina!

Finally Production Sedans will have opportunity to run some laps with their Victorian title in the new year also at Alexandra.

This Saturday, racing begins from 4pm on Gordon Street Alexandra with a planned 10:30pm finish. Enquires can communicate via text to 0438 700 124 prior to race day up until 9.30pm, whilst the number is available for calls on race day.

Entrance will cost $60 for a family of two adults and three kids aged 10 to 16. An adult ticket is $25, Aged, and Invalid and children aged 10 to 16 is $10 with all children under the age of ten, free.

Alexandra and District Speedway club thank and acknowledge the following valuable supporters;
Alexandra & Yea Pre-Mix
Alexandra Panels & Towing
AusBuilt Rural
Beach Earthmoving
Bendigo Bank
Belkblast Protective Coatings
Donnaz Underground
Eastern Suburbs Locksmiths
Elite Racking Installs
Endeavor Petroleum
Exhaust Fix Lilydale
Fallon’s Bus Services
Highline Racewear
Ismail’s Building & Construction
LS Quarry
Matthew & Sons Drilling Services
Metro Tow
Outer Eastern Steel
Pakenham Towing
Precision Race Parts
Raslarr Engineering
Revegetation Victoria
S&N Builders
Smooth Suspension
Town & Country Tennis Courts
Tyrepower Alexandra
Valley Onsite
Victory Lane Racegear
Wandin Heavy Haulage
Waverley Exhaust & Brake Centre
Yenckens Hardware Alexandra

Jamie Collins – Victoria/Tasmania 1
Brock Atkins – Victoria 7
Darren Giacometti – Victoria 12
Danny Smith – Victoria 19
Mick Nicola Jnr – Victoria 23
Dave Mackenzie – Victoria 24
Lionel West – Victoria 71
Trav Ramsdale – Victoria 99

Justin Paull – New South Wales 1
Mark Hutchinson – Victoria 6
Daniel Wiles – Victoria 9
Tania Hallett – Victoria 15
Chris Curren – Victoria 23
Andrew Wiles – Victoria 32
Aaron Stubbs – Victoria 46
Trevor Perry – Victoria 55
Mitch Allison – Victoria 64
Terry Brown – Victoria 88

Jaiden Santin – NSW/SA 1
River Paterson – Victoria 1
Matilda Farrell – Nyora 5
Steane Cosson – Alexandra 8
Pary Das – Simpson 8
Tyson Heaphy – Nyora 9
Max Leersen – Simpson 9
Bree Simpson – Alexandra 10
Jake Bradley – Avalon 14
Miller Throckmorton – Colac 18
James Peacock – Avalon 23
Tamika Simpson – Alexandra 23
Cruz Farrell – Nyora 25
Tristan Jarred – Nyora 27
Maddy Capon – Alexandra 66
Will Fallon – Alexandra 77

Cruz Carlin – Portland 12
Luke Morrison – Alexandra 13
Darcy Dannatt – Alexandra 16
Jaylen Knight – Nyora 17
Cruz Paterson – Alexandra 46
Axel Robinson – Alexandra 65

Blake Beach – Alexandra 18
Dayne Murdoch – Alexandra 22
Jai Alexander – Alexandra 25
Chase Doherty – Drouin 31
Brad Marshall – Alexandra 58
Holly Hutchinson – Daylesford 80
Maddy Beach – Alexandra 88

Rhys Lansdown – Victoria 1
Mitch Foster – Bairnsdale 4
Shane Stewart – Rosedale 6
Warrick Howie – Wangaratta 7
Jaimi Barber – Wangaratta 8
Brodie Robertson – Nyora 8
Kacey Ingram – Nyora 43
Ben Rudd – Alexandra 65
Tyson Cull – Rosedale 69

Braidan Webster – Alexandra 5
Jack Van Bremen – Alexandra 16
Ian Thomsen – Alexandra 22
Ethan Lambert – Alexandra 46
David Donegan – Alexandra 75
Justin Thomsen – Alexandra 83

Written by
Dean Thompson
DMT Sports Media
For Alexandra and District Speedway Club