MotoGP: Portuguese Grand Prix 2022 Preview

This is the 17th time Portugal hosts a Grand Prix. The first on Portuguese soil was in 2000, and the first two Portuguese Grands Prix were actually held in Spain: in Jarama in 1987 and Jerez in 1988.

Following an eleven-year break, the event returned to the calendar in 2000 at Estoril, where it was held every year until 2012.

This will be the fourth time that the Autodromo Internacional do Algarve has hosted a Grand Prix, and the third time it’s named the Portuguese GP (adding to the Algarve GP last year).  

In 2020, the track became the 72nd different circuit to hold a premier class Grand Prix, and the 29th to hold a MotoGP race since the introduction of the class in 2002.

KTM, Yamaha and Ducati are the most successful manufacturers in MotoGP™ in Portimão with one win each: Miguel Oliveira at the 2020 Portuguese GP, Fabio Quartararo at the 2021 Portuguese GP and Francesco Bagnaia at the 2021 Algarve GP, all of them from pole.  

Suzuki’s best result at Portimão: second with Joan Mir at the 2021 Algarve GP, Mir’s most recent podium.  

Honda’s best: fourth with Alex Marquez, also at the Algarve GP last year.  

Aprilia’s best: Aleix Espargaro, sixth in 2021/1 (Portuguese GP). With Aleix Espargaro in sixth and Lorenzo Savadori in 14th at the Portuguese GP, this was the first time two Aprilia riders scored since Austria in 2020.  

Six different riders have stood on the podium in MotoGP™ at Portimão: Francesco Bagnaia (2), Jack Miller (2), Joan Mir (2), Fabio Quartararo (1), Miguel Oliveira (1) and Franco Morbidelli (1).

At the Americas GP, Enea Bastianini took his second win in MotoGP™ along with Qatar earlier this season, becoming the eighth Ducati rider to have won more than once in the class. He is now tied with Danilo Petucci and Jack Miller in sixth place in the list of Ducati riders with most premier class wins.

The win for Bastianini is the third for a Ducati rider belonging to Independent Team in MotoGP™, along with his win in Qatar this year and Jorge Martin last year in Styria.  

Bastianini is now leading the MotoGP™ World Championship with 61 points which is the lowest score for a rider leading the Championship in the premier class after the opening four races since the current point system was introduced in 1993.

MotoGP Championship TOP 5

1 Enea Bastianini (Gresini Racing MotoGP™) – Ducati – 51
2 Alex Rins (Team Suzuki Ecstar) – Suzuki – 56
3 Aleix Espargaro (Aprilia Racing) – Aprilia – 50
4 Joan Mir (Team Suzuki Ecstar) – Suzuki – 46
5 Fabio Quartararo (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP™) – Yamaha – 44

Lights go out on Sunday at 13:00 local time (GMT +1).



Leave a Reply