GRASSROOTS: WA Sporting Car Club's 2022 Season Returns with Twilight Meet and Tight Racing

The WA Sporting Car Club is running with a two day race format over six race meets this year and the first one has been run, won and done with 11 categories appearing over the two day event.

Opening proceedings was the combined grid of Improved Production and Street Cars. By the end of the day Nik Mitic made a clean sweep of the hotly contested Improved Production Cars 3001cc – 6000cc class while over the in the Street Cars outright class, Paul Kluck was the winner of the day.

The second grid for the opening round of the 2022 WA Sporting Car Club championship was the WA Sports Sedans and Sports Cars category.

In the Sports Sedan class, Brett Niall in his Chevrolet Camaro took out the top step with Ryan Humfrey in the Ford Falcon XE nipping at his heels just two points behind.

Meanwhile Arthur Abrahams made it a clean sweep of the Sports Car class running his Audi R8 LMS EVO.

Introducing new people to motorsport in a non-race format is important to growing motorsport and the Tarmac Sportz Series does just that.
At the February race meet, the Tarmac Sportz Series Time Attack class hit the track with the overall winner being Dean Pike in his GT3 Cup 997.2.

18 of the Hyundai Excel’s took to Wanneroo Raceway last Saturday as we opened the circuit racing season for 2022.
Some solid racing across the entire category with the ultimate winner of the day Brett Sherriff.
This wasn’t an easy win with Harry Douglas and Rob Landsmeer both nipping at his heels and trading places throughout the entire day of racing.

We think the Excel category might have surprised a few people on the weekend with the close racing all through the field. From back of the grid runs through to the front pack and a lot of back and forth between the front runners, the Excel drivers certainly put on a great show of grassroots motorsport racing at the 1st round of the 2022 WA Sporting Car Club Championship.

Next to grid up at the first round of the 2022 WA Sporting Car Club Championship was the Saloon Cars. Australia’s favourite Holden vs Ford battle that still can be found at grassroots level at Australian tracks.With the departure of Brock Boley from the category, It could have been expected that Grant Johnson would get a free run, however the youngsters and veterans put a stop to any thoughts of that.Robert Marcon finished the round ahead of Grant Johnson with Chase Hoy in third for the round for the PRO class.Back in the Pro-AM class, Michael Koberstein was a clear winner for the day with Neil Streatfield over 20 points behind and Shane Eather nipping at Streatfields brake lights just 2 points behind.

With last year’s front runners taking a breather, there was an opening for some new contenders to take the steps during the HQ Holden category races. At the end of the day, Dennis Russell managed to keep Ryan Davis at bay, but only by just 2 points with Todd Forknall completing the podium.

Opening up Sunday proceedings was the Free Formula category featuring open cockpit cars of the past combining with the Formula Ford category for the round. It’s always great to see the old open cockpit cars out on track reminding us of racing past.

FSR WA returned to Wanneroo Raceway this year with a mainly Radical contingent from the Arise Racing team. Stewart Burns would appear to be the only entrant running an F1000 this year.Adam Lisle and Elliott Schutte entertained at the pointy end with them trading places for most of the race before Joe Bergic placed 2nd in the last race.

Formula Vee returned with a few familiar names missing, however this did not diminish the on track action whatsoever as there were battles all up and down the field as the competitors vied for the GerryKay Prosser Memorial Plates.

By the end of the day, David Caisley would take out the 1600 class with Franz Esterbauer and Danny Cero behind him and in the 1200 class, Brett Scarey stood on top with April Welsh and Myles Lockett behind.

Closing out proceedings for the first round of the 2022 WA Sporting Car Club championship was the Historic Touring Car category. Featuring a wide range of cars from Minis through to Ford Mustangs, LJ Toranas and much more.

Overall winner of the day was Clinton Rayner in the #76 Chevrolet Camaro with Greg Bar and Stuart Young behind him in their LJ Torana GTR XU-1s.

Rayner was seen to be sliding his car through Turn 7 as he pushed harder and harder despite having a few lengths over his nearest competitor.



Leave a Reply