Grid is set for 2022 Supercars Season

Published: Saturday January 22 2022
So the silly season is done and dusted, contracts signed, ink dried and car liveries under development. So .. Who landed where and what will the grid look like in 2022?

So the silly season is done and dusted, contracts signed, ink dried and car liveries under development. So .. Who landed where and what will the grid look like in 2022?

With the delay of the Gen3 regulations until the start of the 2023 season, the Holden Commodore ZB and Ford Mustang will be the choice for one final season.


DJR returns with an unchanged two-car line up with Anton De Pasquale and Will Davison both returning for the 2022 season after signing multi-year deals in 2021.


Will Brown and Brodie Kostecki will both return after signing multi-year deals in 2021 for the team. Both drivers enjoyed some success in their rookie year after stepping up from the Super2 series.


The bubbly Chaz Mostert will remain in his seat after signing a multi-year contract back in June 2021. Bryce Fullwood his teammate for 2021 is moving on to Brad Jones Racing and joining the team, in what was the biggest “silly season” announcement of 2021, will be Nick Percat who had confirmed early in 2021 that he was going to extend his five-year stay at Brad Jones Racing.


Not to be upstaged by Nick Percat’s announcement, they fired back almost immediately with the announcemtn that André Heimgartner who had success with the Kelly Grove Racing team in 2021 will join the team.

Todd Hazelwood is being replaced by Bryce Fullwood.

Two faces to stay will be Jack Smith  for his third year and Macauley Jones will be around for his fourth season.


Jamie Whincup steps down as driver to take up his role as Tripe Eight team principal after Roland Dane stepped down in late 2021.

Shane van Gisbergen will stay on and as we’ve reported earlier, Broc Feeney is stepping up into the team after spending time in the Super2 series.


S5000 championship contender and 2020 Super2 Series winner Thomas Randle will be joining the team alongside Jake Kostecki.

Cam Waters and James Courtney are sticking around at Tickford Racing each on multi-year deals.


Team 18 became the “Same same” team of the grid with Scott Pye and Mark Winterbottom both hanging around for another year with the team. Pye is on a further two year deal, while Winterbottom’s contract ends at the end of 2022.


The outfit formerly known as Kelly Grove Racing will be Grove Racing from 2022 as the Kelly family fully exits the team. David Reynolds will be sticking around the team and will be joined by Lee Holdsworth who gained a release from Walkinshaw Andretti United to allow him to return to full-time Supercars racing.


Team Sydney was the punctuation mark of silly season when it announced that it was sold by the Webb brothers Jonathon and Kobe to PremiAir Hire owner Peter Xiberras.

Garry Jacobson and Chris Pither will be the two drivers for PremiAir in 2022 with Fabian Coulthard sent out to pasture again.


Jack Le Brocq and Todd Hazelwood will be heading north to the Queensland based team after the departure of Jake Kostecki to Tickford Racing and Zane Goddard who was unable to negotiate a new deal with MSR.


The minnow of the supercars teams, Blanchard Racing Team remains unchanged for 2022 with Tim Slade staying on as the squads driver.